OhNoItsBonnie!

tire cupping question

I bought a rc51 with michelin pilot power tires on it.  their fairly new with not many miles but the front has some slight cupping on it.  If it was on a cruiser, I wouldnt even begin to worry about it, but being a performane bike that Im going to be learning on, I'd prefer to get a opinion on them first.  Its no issue for me to replace it, but theres so little wear on it, Id hate to toss what might a perfectly acceptable tire with lots of miles left.

Do any you think a minimal cupped front tire could be a issue? I would take a pic but its not that obvious at all visually.  It is obvious by running your hand down the tread though

I'm not sure but on a new bike (different suspension)it may actually un cup itself ???

also running at lower pressure both parts cupped and UN cupped parts should be making contact with the pavement.

im no tire expert and a true racer typ expert would probbably see it different but that's my best guess for anything less then race pace.

• Upvote 1

Tire cupping will usually be from either an unbalanced wheel, or suspension issues. Which allow the tire to bounce up and down causing it to loose contact with the road. Once the cupping starts it just amplifies the problem because the cupping also causes bouncing. 

Check your front wheel and see if it has any wheel weights on it. If you can pull the wheel off and take it to have the balance checked that would be the best way to eliminate it as a problem. As for the suspension, I know you are wanting to take it to Eric to get it set up. He will be able to tell if you have any problems. It could be as simple as the rebound being set too low, and not allowing the front to recover fast enough from bumps. 

Either way I wouldn't replace the tire until you figure out what's causing the cupping. And if the cupping on the current tire isn't that bad you may be okay to continue using that one. Eric will be able to give you a better idea on that as well.