Sign in to follow this  
stigsladycousin

'07 Ninja500r not starting

As with every single vehicle I've gotten, I've always had battery issues, especially in the cold.
After trying to start up my Kawasaki a few days after it was last ridden, it didn't want to start and did that horrifying ticking I've heard in car batteries. The lights would turn on with the key, but as soon as I try to start, even with the choke all the way down, it doesn't want to do anything and the lights shut off until I'm off the start. This was ~40 degrees.
When it hit 60 the other week, it turned on just fine.
Now it's doing the same thing again, even after we put it on the charger.

Is this a common thing when it gets cold out or am I just really unlucky when it comes to things that go vroom?

First...the disclaimer...I'm not a motorcycle mechanic...LOL

I would start first with the battery...ARE THE CONNECTIONS CLEAN AND TIGHT.

Next would be to test or just replace the battery...Does the bike start with a jump from another source...not just a battery tender.

Note...the lights might be working...however, battery too weak to turn engine over...

Second...possible the starter is going out...You will get a few "lucky" starts before starter will never work again.

That is as far as I can attest to.

ch

The connections are clean and tight. The previous owner kept this bike very clean.
It does start with a jump and runs for a few days then does this process again. It only started happening when it got really cold out.
I really hope that start isn't the case :c Had that go on with my first car along with the battery.
Seems like everything I touch dies hahaha

Thank you!

I've only had that happen (bothn on suzuki savages) ended up just being dead batteries