GSXR55

Rotella T oil?

64 posts in this topic

Due for oil change on '16 gsxr 750.  Started googling and found numerous, credible posts that say that Shell Rotella T oil is effectively same as Suzuki perf oil (allegedly Shell makes the Suzuki oil).  Can anyone speak to that?  Got a gallon for $14 up the street whereas the Suzuki stuff is > double that and need to mail order or drive long way.  

The manual says use API SG SH SJ OR SL and JASO MA.  The Rotella is SM, which superceded SL for cars anyway and is JASO MA.  Only downside I could find (wiki) is that high phosphorus might damage the cat...  

Please advise and thanks!

I use Rotella in all my bikes. I swap bikes like underwear though, so I don't guess I can speak to any long term problems.

I've been running T6 for a few years now, no problems to report.

I use Rotella and have not had any issues. I used the T6 in my 2013 zx6r and I now use the T4 in my sv650 and 748 twins. 

I use what's called for so I don't even have to think about what to use. Discussing oil use is like discussing politics or religion-everybody has an opinion. Use what makes you happy.

1 person likes this

LOL I just had no idea you could use diesel engine oil in a sportbike.  You know I also found that Suzuki says you don't need to change the filter a second time until the fourth oil change or 11K.  I'm gonna go ahead and do now anyway.  

The biggest thing to avoid is "friction modifiers".  Usually there's a star looking logo on the bottle.  These additives are great in the motor, but they play havoc with the clutch.  They reduce friction, and you kinda need that in the clutch :)

1 person likes this

Vehicle manufacturers use many reasons for their maintenance recommendations.  Many have not a single thing to do with reliability and dependability.

Two of these reasons: